Established in 1996, the BWH Minority Faculty Career Development Award (MFCDA) is granted annually to one to two early-career underrepresented in medicine (URM*) academicians.  It is designed to assist them in supporting their work and career progression at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and at Harvard Medical School. The MFCDA is a mentored career development award of $100,000 which is paid out over a 5-year period and is not renewable.  This award is an important part of BWH’s efforts to increase the representation of URM physicians and scientists in the fellowship programs and faculty positions at BWH.

The award is given out during the annual MFCDA Grand Rounds & Honorees Reception. 

Applications for the 2017 awards are open from November 1st 2016 – January 9th, 2017


Click here to APPLY

Eligibility Criteria

The applicant must:

  • Be a member of a URM group
  • Be a US citizen or non-citizen national with a permanent residence visa
  • Hold a primary academic appointment at BWH
  • Hold professional full time employment at BWH
  • Be a 3rd or 4th year resident, a clinical or research fellow or a full time faculty member in their first faculty position at BWH within the first five years of their initial faculty appointment
  • Hold an MD, MD/PhD, PhD or equivalent degree
  • Commit to a career in academic medicine
  • Provide evidence that a commitment of a full-time faculty position has been made to the candidate
  • Commit a minimum of 75% professional effort (of a full-time position) to their career development plan

For more information please contact us at or by calling 617.525.7646.

Past MFCDA Recipients

1996 Eldrin Lewis, MD, MPH 2009 Audra R. Meadows, MD, MPH
1996 Christopher Wright, MD, PhD 2009 Nora Osman, MD
1998 Collin Stultz, MD, PhD 2010 Daniel Palazuelos, MD, MPH
1998 Chinweike Ukomadum, MD, MPH 2011 David Walton, MD
2001 Michelle Albert, MD 2011 Corrina Oxford, MD
2001 LeRoi Hicks, MD, MPH 2012 Rose Kakoza, MD
2001 George Ruiz, MD 2012 Ebony Boyce-Carter, MD
2002 Elizabeth Garner, MD 2012 Khady Diouf, MD
2002 Everett Lyn, MD, MSc 2013 Robert Riviello, MD, MPH
2003 Arturo Saavedra, MD, PhD 2013 Alejandro Diaz, MD, MPH
2004 Fidencio Saldana, MD, MPH 2014 Nadia Huancahuari, MD
2004 Thomas Sequist, MD 2014 Miguel Divo, MD
2005 Cheryl Clark, MD, ScD 2015 Liza Colimon, MD
2005 Zara Cooper, MD, MsC 2015 Monik Jiménez, ScD, SM
2006 Christian Arbelaez, MD, MPH 2016 Joseph Mancias, MD, PhD
2006 J. Keith Joseph, MD 2016 Viviany Taqueti, MD, MPH
  2008 Michael Wilson, MD, PhD    

*Underrepresented in medicine (URM) means those racial and ethnic populations that are underrepresented in the medical profession relative to their numbers in the general population [Adopted by the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC) Executive Committee, March 19, 2004]. Per AAMC guidelines, at BWH, URM is defined as African American/Black, Alaskan/Hawaiian Native, Hispanic American, and Native American.